156 - Election Analysis - By-Elections November 2021 Explained With Rohit Jayaraman | Bharatvaarta


Manage episode 307277210 series 2641625
Creato da Bharatvaarta, autore scoperto da Player FM e dalla nostra community - Il copyright è detenuto dall'editore, non da Player FM, e l'audio viene riprodotto direttamente dal suo server. Clicca sul pulsante Iscriviti per rimanere aggiornato su Player FM, o incolla l'URL del feed in un altra app per i podcast.

The results of all the bypolls held in 29 assembly seats and three Lok Sabha seats are in. The Trinamool Congress swept all four assembly seats in West Bengal with Udayan Guha winning the Dinhata seat, previously held by the BJP, by a margin of 1,63,005 votes.Meanwhile, the Congress party swept the Himachal and Rajasthan bypolls. The party wrested the Mandi Lok Sabha seat from the BJP and won all three assembly seats in Himachal Pradesh. In Rajasthan, the party won both the Dhariawad and Vallabhnagar assembly constituencies with margins of 18,725 and 20,606 votes, respectively. It also reclaimed Madhya Pradesh’s Raigaon, a traditional BJP seat, after 31 years, besides bagging one seat each in Karnataka and Maharashtra. However, it lost Jobat, a reserved ST seat, and the Prithvipur assembly seat in MP to the BJP, which also retained its Khandwa Lok Sabha seat. The BJP-led alliance claimed victory in all five assembly seats in Assam. The saffron party also wrested Telangana’s Huzurabad from the ruling TRS, while securing a win in Karnataka’s Sindagi. Rohit Jayaraman, our resident political expert, breaks down the significance of the by poll elections and what they portend for the coming elections.

244 episodi